Ears and Years

Bissmillahi Rahmani Raheem.

Aside from the obvious sound similarity in both the words, for me there has been another connection between the two. For years my ears have refused to listen to good advice if it has been against my own need.

This need stems from what I would call “lower self” I cannot describe it further, it is the inner self in Islam which we believe is a lustful  and greedy self which only wants self satisfaction in life. In arabic it s called “Nafs”…

For years and years my mother would tell me not to listen to music, to clean my room or to study hard but I wouldn’t and I would always and always regret not having listened to her. Today I find  myself in the same situation again.

This time it isn’t my mother because I find myself telling my mother than I am now wiser than her.. what a silly remark or thought! But today I think back to what not listening to her did to me.

I have always suffered  when I didn’t pay heed to what was said to me. Over the years, my ears have become deaf. To cries of pain, help and reform.

Allah save me. Ameen

8 thoughts on “Ears and Years

    1. Assalamoalaikum,
      Thank you for your reply. I didn’t see it, I haven’t set the comments to be filtered but somehow it went into spam. JazakAllah for visiting and I loved your website. InshaAllah I will keep visiting. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

